HeyDock vs Opal
Opal: A screen-time and app-blocking app for iPhone, Android and Mac.
| HeyDock | Opal | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $19 Solo or $29 Duo, one-time, every 1.x update | Free plan; Pro $99.99 a year, $19.99 a month, or $399 lifetime |
| Trial and refunds | No trial; 7-day refund | Free week (yearly) or 3-day trial (monthly); 30-day money-back on Stripe purchases |
| Macs per purchase | 1 (Solo) or 2 (Duo) | Not stated |
| Requires | macOS 26 or later, Apple silicon | iPhone, Android or Mac; macOS version not stated |
| Replaces the Mac Dock | Yes, optional; or sits beside it | No (not a dock) |
| Modes or profiles | Yes: pill, menu bar, ⌥1–9, suggestions | Rules: schedules, time limits and open limits |
| Pause before off-task apps and sites | Yes, during Focus, with a wait you choose; sites in Chrome, Brave, Arc and Edge | Blocking; Hard Mode: “You can’t turn Opal off” |
| Holds notifications | Yes: off-mode messages wait, then one digest | Not listed |
| Restores where you left off | Yes: apps, files, pages and a note | Not listed |
| AI | On-device (Apple Foundation Models) sorts apps and sites by mode | Not listed |
| Widgets | 30, set per mode | Not listed |
Opal facts from opalapp.com, checked 2 November 2026. Something wrong? Email [email protected].
Which to pick.
Pick Opal if…
…you need blocking across your phone and Mac, hard limits you can’t undo, or a free plan.
Pick HeyDock if…
…you want friction instead of a wall, on a Mac, built into the dock you already use all day — with no subscription.